eulogy

in loving memory of Mr Julian, you are fondly remembered by all who are fortunate enough to have known you. may you rest in peace.

there are things that no

control can change the result ;

an indeterminate error

in the loop of life,

an unidentifiable cause

that cost you.

solution after solution

you always react the

same, readily providing answers

to every insoluble question,

invariably speeding up

our rate of absorption.

you were truly the catalyst

for the shift of sentiment,

drawing our attention

towards a subject

so complex that we

could not simply love.

does it take

your passing

for us to pass ?

note : Mr Julian passed on on 15/4/19. I found out only days later and I was in complete disbelief. How can someone so young and so full of life leave so suddenly ? I frantically read the message over and over again, hoping that it was some sort of mistake, prank, joke, anything at all but I was only harshly greeted by the news that he is at a better place now.

A week ago, you cancelled lessons so that you can attend a wedding this week and I still vividly remember the way you exuded excitement at the thought of having a well deserved break. As you were going through Nitrogen Compounds, I was admittedly lost and I was intending to ask you the next time I see you again. It never crossed my mind that that would be the last lesson, the last time I watch you passionately explaining a concept, the last time you’d impart your knowledge through your silly abbreviations and explanations that never fail to eliminate my doubts. You’re so incredibly selfless, giving so so much to us. I’ve never met someone who is as patient as you and you always believed in me more than I could ever believe in myself and it’s unnerving to think that you’re truly gone.

Upon receiving the news of your passing, there were only two goals on my mind that i wanted to accomplish. The first is to write you a poem with chemistry imagery that would encapsulate your passion for chemistry and how you have influenced me. The second is to stop failing chemistry. I’ve completed the first goal, albeit hastily and in tears. I need to be strong and move on because i know the last thing you’d want is for me to waste time moping when I should be studying. I’ll try my best to work towards the second goal, even though you won’t be physically here to support me anymore but your faith in me lives on.

8 thoughts on “eulogy”

  1. This is a beautiful ode. There are some people who leave an impact so strong in our lives and we continue living savouring their memories. 🙂 May Mr. Julian’s soul rest in peace.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. you’re welcome. thank you for taking the time to read my poem once more ! it was a pleasure writing for him. i’m sure he’s at a better place now :”)

      Like

Leave a comment